لقاء مع اللاجئين وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

الملاذ الآمن

دأب الشعب الأردني على فتح ذراعيه لجيرانه في أوقات الشدة، بمن في ذلك الفلسطينيين والعراقيين والسوريين، ولكن الضغط على موارد البلاد هائل، مما حد من قدراتها.

وعلى مدى السنوات الأربع الماضية، انضم أكثر من 600 ألف لاجئ من الحرب السورية إلى 700 ألف سوري كانوا يقيمون في الأردن قبل الأزمة، فأصبحوا يشكلون ما يوازي 20٪ من سكان الأردن.

ويسكن في مخيم الزعتري للاجئين في شمال شرق الأردن ما يقرب من 100 ألف سوري، وبذلك يعد ثاني أكبر مخيم للاجئين في العالم. وفي أيار عام 2014، افتتحت مفوضية اللاجئين التابعة للأمم المتحدة مخيما جديدا في منطقة الأزرق على بعد 100كم  من عمان، بقدرة استيعاب تصل إلى 130 ألف لاجئ، مما يضيف ضغوطا جديدة على موارد الأردن المحدودة.

لكن 83% من اللاجئين السوريين لا يعتمدون بنفس القدر على الأمم المتحدة،  ويعيش هؤلاء داخل المجتمعات المحلية الأردنية، مما يشكل عبئا كبيرا على المرافق العامة والموارد مثل التعليم والرعاية الصحية والمياه والطاقة.

ويشار إلى أن المساعدات الخارجية، التي يقدرها الأردن عاليا، لا تغطي سوى 39٪ من كلفة الاستجابة للتدفق السريع والمتواصل للاجئين. ووفقا لتقدير غير نهائي قامت به الأمم المتحدة، فإن الكلفة المالية لما يحتاجه الأردن للتخفيف من أثر اللاجئين السوريين في عام 2014 تبلغ 2.8 مليار دولار.

ومن بين اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن، هناك ما يقرب من 20 ألفا من المسيحيين.

وسوف يعقد قداسة البابا فرنسيس اجتماعا خاصا مع لاجئين من سورية والعراق، فضلا عن الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة لتسليط الضوء على محنتهم.

 

العون الإغاثي والإنساني

يعد الأردن رائدا في جهود السلام والأمن على الصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي.

فعلى الرغم من صغر حجم المملكة ومحدودية مواردها، نجد أن جزءا كبيرا من أفراد الجيش الأردني يشاركون في عمليات حفظ السلام بقيادة الأمم المتحدة، مما يدل على التزام الأردن بتحقيق وحفظ السلام والاستقرار العالمي.

كذلك أرسل الأردن مستشفيات ميدانية لمناطق الصراع والمناطق المتضررة من الكوارث الطبيعية لتقديم المساعدة للملايين في جميع أنحاء العالم، مثل العراق والضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة ولبنان ومصر وأفغانستان وهاييتي وإندونيسيا والكونغو وليبيريا وإثيوبيا وسيراليون والباكستان.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تقدم الهيئة الخيرية الأردنية الهاشمية مساعدات إنسانية مباشرة للبلدان المتضررة أثناء وفي أعقاب النزاعات والكوارث الطبيعية. فمنذ إنشائها في عام 1990، تمكنت الهيئة من تقديم المساعدات للمحتاجين في أكثر من 34 بلدا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وكثيرا ما يساهم الشعب الأردني في الأنشطة الخيرية، مثل إنشاء بنوك الملابس، وجمع التبرعات النقدية وإقامة نشاطات لجمع التبرعات بهدف دعم المحتاجين في الأردن والخارج.

وتتكامل هذه المساهمات الشعبية مع الجهود التي تقوم بها شبكة واسعة من المؤسسات الحكومية والمنظمات المدنية والدينية التي تعمل على تلبية احتياجات اللاجئين والفئات الاجتماعية التي تواجه الصعوبات.

Meeting with the Vulnerable

Safe haven

The people of Jordan have always opened their arms to people in times of distress, including Palestinians, Iraqis and Syrians, but the pressure on the country’s resources is in many ways enormous and limiting its capabilities.

Over the past four years, over 600,000 Syrian war refugees joined 700,000 Syrians who were already residing in Jordan, resulting in about 20% in Jordan’s population.

The Zaatari Refugee Camp, in northeastern Jordan, houses close to 100,000 Syrians and is the world’s second largest refugee camp. In May 2014, the NHCR opened a new camp in Azraq, some 100kms from Amman, with capacity for 130,000 refugees, adding new strain on Jordan’s limited resources.

Depending less on direct UN and other donor assistance, 83% of Syrian refugees live within local Jordanian communities, placing an increaing burden on public resources such as education, healthcare, water and energy.

Foreign assistance, while appreciated, only covered 39% of the costs of coping with the rapid influx of refugees. According to a UN provisional overview, total requirements for Jordan to mitigate the impact of Syrian refugees in 2014 is $2.8 billion.

Among the Syrian refugees in Jordan, there are close to 20,000 Christians.

His Holiness Pope Francis held a special meeting with refugees from Syria and Iraq, as well as persons with disabilities to shed light on their plight.

 

Humanitarian outreach

Jordan is a leader in peace and security efforts at both regional and international levels.

Despite its small size and limited resources, a significant portion of Jordan’s military personnel participate in UN peacekeeping operations, demonstrating the country’s global commitment to peace and stability.

Jordan has also dispatched field hospitals to conflict zones and areas affected by natural disasters extending aid to millions around the world, such as Iraq, the West Bank, Gaza, Lebanon, Egypt, Afghanistan, Haiti, Indonesia, Congo, Liberia, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone and Pakistan.

Meanwhile, the Jordan Hashemite Charity Organization (JHCO) provides direct humanitarian aid to affected countries during and after conflict and natural disasters. Since its establishment in 1990, JHCO has managed to provide aid to people in need in more than 34 countries around the world.  

The Jordanian public frequently engages in charitable activities, like setting up clothing banks, collecting cash donations and running fund-raising events to support those in need in and outside Jordan.

Their efforts complement an extensive network of governmental institutions, and civil and religious organisations’ working to meet the needs of refugees and of the vulnerable sectors of society.